Introductions: A Lifetime with Writer’s Cramp

DSC00101

Introduce your condition(s) to other Health Activists.  What are 5 things you want them to know about your condition/your activism?

 To write about my health condition to other health activists I re-wrote a post that I had done called: “A lifetime with writer’s cramp”. I liked it very much and I think that this text expresses much more than five things the readers need to know about my condition. It was written in December 2012.

I do not know what it is to live without dystonia.

I was born with this neurologic movement disorder.

Since my childhood I always had serious trouble writing.

I did not understand what was happening to me.

Everyone wrote.  I could never write normally..

I always rehearsed for writing.

I picked up the pen strongly and I always was slow when writing a short text.

Writing has always been difficult and a lot of discomfort.

I never understood …

I was born this way. I do not know how it is to live without writer’s cramp.

In my life there is no borderline between life before and after dystonia.

I always isolated myself from other colleagues. I have this tendency  to be alone, today.

I’ve always had difficulty with the fine psychomotor coordination.

I think the dystonia has not  worsened because I have  always practiced Tai-chi-chuan.

Currently, I definitely can not write.

Typing,  grip a fork,  grab a cup of coffee,  leaf  through a book and things like that have become a discomfort and a great challenge.

I have lived with  little involuntary spasms, with  crooked  and almost totally invalid hands for specific tasks.

I still think all this is strange and a  real nightmare!

I still have not got used to this condition.

I am no longer sick or in pain because  of acupuncture treatment …

Because of virtual friends that I have madden in the last two years. They help me with their testimonials  to have a willingness to continue living well with writer’s cramp.

Because of my  Dystonia  BloggerMania that aims to promote awareness of the disease.

I still think there will come a day where I can demarcate a line between my life  pre and post dystonia …

…I believe a cure will be found!

HAWMC_2012_dayprompt-25

Um pensamento sobre “Introductions: A Lifetime with Writer’s Cramp

  1. Pingback: Recap HAWMC! | HOMENS DE BEM

Deixe uma resposta

